South Cotabato poet declares ‘Makata ng Taón 2024’

South Cotabato poet declares ‘Makata ng Taón 2024’


Komisyon ng Wikang Filipino (KWF) has honored Adrian Pete M. Pregonir with the prestigious title of “Makata ng Taón” (Poet of the Year) for 2024. This accolade was bestowed in recognition of his poem, “Sa Muhón ng Iyong Kabáong Maibábaón ang mga Guhò ng Kahápon.”

In celebration of his literary achievement, Pregonir was awarded a cash prize of PHP 30,000, along with a plaque and a medal. The grand awarding ceremony took place on April 17, 2024, at the Sheraton Hotel in Pasay City.

Rowell S. Ulang also won the second prize for his poem “At Pagkatápos, Magpapatúloy pa rin Akóng Maglakad.” He received PHP 20,000 and a plaque. Allan John A. Andres for his poem “Nakikiraán lang ang Lahat sa Novaliches” and Andre Alfonso R. Gutierrez for his poem “Propesíya sa Pagítan ng mga Taludtód” also won the Third Prize.

“I believe in the capability of my collection because it is the fruit of my solidarity and effort. This award is important to me because it gives me and other writers a space to succeed and be read by others,” said Pregonir.

South Cotabato poet declares ‘Makata ng Taón 2024’

Adrian Medina Pregonir was born in Koronadal City but grew up in Maasim, Sarangani Province, and continued to study in South Cotabato. He writes in Filipino, Hiligaynon, and Kinaray-a.

He was a fellow for poetry at the Davao Writers Workshop (2018), Rogelio Sicat Workshop (2021), San Agustin Writers Workshop (2021), TAHAD: Creative Nonfiction in Hiligaynon Workshop (2021), and Kahirupan Bantugan in Writing-Sulat Hanasan in Binalaybay (2021).

His works have been published in readings, magazines, and anthologies such as Liwayway, Tumandok Hiligaynon, Dagmay, Cotabato Literary Journal, TLDTD: Biannual Journal of Filipino Poets, Dx Machina 4 of UP Likhaan, Ani 41 of the Cultural Center of the Philippines, Lakbay: Anthology of Wandering Poems of 7 Eyes Productions, Dx Machina of UP Likhaan and others.

He has won awards for the Rene O. Villanueva Award for Essay, Don Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards, Bantugan in Kinaray-a Writing, Bienvenido Lumbera Award, and Padya Dungug Kinaray-a.

"’Literature and Peace’ is the theme of this year's National Literature Month. Let us strive to discover the truth through writing that promotes peace. To all the writers, let us use our stories, poems, plays, essays, and others, for the cause of peace. Literature has a significant responsibility in propagating this,” he said. 

Talaang Gintô: Makata ng Taón is a poetry writing competition organized by the KWF. It aims to invigorate and elevate the quality of Filipino poetry by recognizing the talents and voices of both veteran and emerging poets in the art of poetry.


Post a Comment